Bank Holidays

Banks in the United States follow a standard schedule of Federal Reserve Bank Holidays, and no banks are open on these days. This information is helpful when you need to deposit a check, initiate a wire transfer, or perform other banking tasks.

For 2019, the official bank holidays are: Jan. 1, Jan. 21, Feb. 18, May 27, July 4, Sept. 2, Oct. 14, Nov. 11, Nov. 28, and Dec. 25. When a recognized holiday falls on a Saturday, Federal Reserve banks and branches are open the preceding Friday (although the Board of Governors agency in Washington, D.C. will be closed). If a holiday is on a Sunday, banks will be closed the following Monday.

Because some in-store banks and other branches are open on weekends and/or have extended hours, this site shows which days that Federal Reserve banks in general might be open and which days they must be closed. Also, if you bank internationally, you'll want to also consult other nations' holiday schedules.

Here's a complete list of Federal Reserve Bank Holidays and the corresponding dates in 2019 when banks will be closed:

  • Tuesday, January 1, 2019 — New Year's Day
  • Monday, January 21, 2019 — Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday
  • Monday, February 18, 2019 — Washington's Birthday (President's Day)
  • Monday, May 27, 2019 — Memorial Day
  • Thursday, July 4, 2019 — Independence Day
  • Monday, September 2, 2019 — Labor Day
  • Monday, October 14, 2019 — Columbus Day
  • Monday, November 11, 2019 — Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 28, 2019 — Thanksgiving Day
  • Wednesday, December 25, 2019 — Christmas Day

Download the entire list of bank holidays as a PDF

Are banks open today? This little web site will tell you whether the bank is open today and tomorrow.